16 unelected representatives included in 47-member Federal Cabinet

After the recent changes in the portfolio of ministers, at least 16 unelected representatives are reportedly included in 47-member Federal Cabinet of Prime Minister (PM) Imran Khan.

According to details, the elected former finance minister Asad Umar has been replaced by unelected technocrat Abdul Hafeez Sheikh as finance advisor to PM while Firdous Ashiq Awan, who faced defeat in the general elections 2018, has been included in the cabinet in place of Fawad Chaudhry as information minister.

Health minister Amir Kiyani and petroleum minister Ghulam Sarwar have been changed by technocrats Zafarullah and Nadeem Babar respectively. 

The cabinet has now 24 federal ministers, five state ministers and 13 special assistants after inclusion of three additional members. 

Other unelected advisors include Malik Amin Aslam, Abdul Razak Dawood, Shahzad Arbab and Dr Ishrat Hussain.  

Imran Khan changes portfolios of several federal ministers

Earlier,  PM Imran changed and re-allocated the portfolios of ministers of the Federal Cabinet.

Fawad Chaudhary was given the portfolio of Minister for Science and Technology, while Ghulam Sarwar was announced as Minister for Aviation, Ijaz Ahmed Shah Minister for Interior and Shehryar Afridi was made Minister of State for SAFRON.

Mohammad Mian Soomro became Minister for Privatization along with additional portfolio of Aviation Division.

Azam swati was appointed as Minister for Parliamentary Affairs.